SPOKANE COUNTY LIBRARY DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES: JUNE 13, 2017

A special meeting of the Spokane County Library District Board of Trustees was held on location and by teleconference, Tuesday, June 13, 2017, at 1:00 p.m., in the public meeting room at Argonne Library, 4322 N. Argonne Rd., Spokane, WA.

Present: John Craig - Chair

Sonja Carlson - Trustee (by teleconference)

Wes Teterud - Trustee

Nancy Ledeboer - Executive Director and Secretary

Excused: Mark Johnson - Vice Chair

Kristin Thompson - Trustee

Also Present On-site: Jane Baker, Communication & Development Officer; Kristy Bateman, Library Services Manager; Sheri Boggs, Youth Collection Development Librarian; Mary Ellen Braks, Library Services Manager; Toni Costa, Chief Human Resources Officer; Gwendolyn Haley, Library Services Manager; Rick Knorr, Chief Financial Officer; Patrick Roewe, Deputy Director; Andrea Sharps, Collection Services Officer; Lori Shotwell, Cataloging Technician; Doug Stumbough, IT Director; Jamie Van Wormer, Volunteer Coordinator; and Patty Franz, Administrative Assistant.

Also Present by Teleconference: Additional SCLD staff joined the meeting from their work locations.

Guest: Reporter Caroline Hammett, The Spokesman-Review

Call to order (Item I)

Chair John Craig convened the meeting/teleconference at 1:05 p.m.

Executive
Director
Appointment
(Item II)

Executive Director Appointment and Professional Negotiations for Public Employment. Mr. Craig motioned and Mr. Teterud seconded approval of the appointment of Patrick Roewe as SCLD Executive Director, effective September 1, 2017, at Range E, Step B. Mr. Craig reviewed the recruitment process, noting the board interviewed two qualified candidates for the executive director position, and received input from the District Leadership Team, a community panel, and others. Mr. Craig emphasized that although not all trustees were available for the formal action, they were unanimous in offering the position to Mr. Roewe, for which he accepted.

AYES, and in favor thereof, Trustees: John Craig, Sonja Carlson, and Wes Teterud.

NAYS, Trustees: None.

ABSENT, Trustees: Mark Johnson and Kristin Thompson.

ABSTAIN, Trustees: None.

There were no questions or public comments.

The motion was approved.

Special Meeting Minutes - Board of Trustees June 13, 2017 Page 2

Public Comment (Item III)

There was no public comment.

Adjournment (Item IV)

Chair Craig adjourned the meeting at 1:08 p.m.

John Craig, Chair

Nancy Ledeboor, Secretary of the Board of Trustees